Sycamore Township DeKalb County State of Illinois

Minutes from March 12, 2024

The regular meeting of the Sycamore Township was held on Tuesday, March 12, 2024. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. The meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance. A roll call was taken. Board members present were Township Supervisor Amy Mathey, Trustees Jim Holliday and George Diedrich. Also present were Township Clerk Kathy Lampkins and Township Highway Commissioner Bill Powers. Kevin Wynn was also present. Trustee Terri Lozier was absent.

Amy Mathey made a motion to appoint Kevin Wynn to fill the unexpired term of Russell C. Josh. George Diedrich seconded the motion. Motion carried. Kevin Wynn takes a seat on the township board.

A motion to approve the minutes from the February 13, 2024 meeting was made by Jim Holliday. The motion was seconded by George Diedrich. Motion carried.

Public Comment – None.

Approval of the Financial Reports/Balance Sheet – George Diedrich made a motion to approve the treasurer's financial reports. Jim Holliday seconded the motion. Motion carried by roll call vote: Amy Mathey, yes; Jim Holliday, yes; George Diedrich, yes; Kevin Wynn, yes.

Audit and Authorization of Expenditures – The following Town expenditures were authorized for payment:

Town	\$ 35,994.54	
IMRF Fund	\$	867.96
General Assistance Fund	\$	0
Total Town Bills	\$ 36,862.50	

Kevin Wynn made a motion to authorize the town expenditures. George Diedrich seconded the motion. Motion carried by roll call vote, Kevin Wynn, yes; George Diedrich, yes; Amy Mathey, yes; Jim Holliday, yes.

Audit and Authorization of Expenditures - The following Road expenditures were authorized for payment:

General Road Fund	\$ 7,701.04
Insurance	\$ 77.07
IMRF Fund	\$ 405.31
Social Security Fund	\$ 693.66
Permanent Road Fund	\$ 15,840.31
Joint Bridge Fund	\$ 0
Building & Equipment	\$ 16,574.26
Total Road Bills	\$ 41,291.65

George Diedrich made a motion to authorize the road expenditures. Kevin Wynn seconded the motion. Motion carried by roll call vote, Kevin Wynn, yes; George Diedrich, yes; Amy Mathey, yes; Jim Holliday, yes.

Assessor's Report – No report.

Highway Commissioner's Report – Bill Powers reported they have been cleaning ditches in front of houses from the winter and will continue this project weather permitting. Jim Holliday asked who is trimming trees on Whipple Road. Bill said Com Ed is trimming the trees. A discussion ensued.

Supervisors Report – Amy Mathey reported there is 1 General Assistance client and 15 residents in the nursing home. Amy said DeKalb Township was moving from a flat grant General Assistance program to a needs based allowance General Assistance program. Amy noted this would be more helpful to General Assistance clients. Amy reported that she will be signing an intergovernmental agreement with DeKalb Township regarding this needs based system. A discussion ensued. Amy said the meeting in April will be followed by the Annual Town Meeting. Amy also said that Marni Hennert from Rock River Energy will be at our May meeting. A discussion ensued.

Trustees Report – None.

Unfinished Business – George Diedrich made a motion to accept the Fiscal Year 2025 Town Budget as presented. Jim Holliday seconded the motion. Motion carried by roll call vote, Amy Mathey, yes; Kevin Wynn, yes; George Diedrich, yes; Jim Holliday, yes. Kevin Wynn made a motion to accept the Fiscal Year 2025 Road District budget as presented. Jim Holliday seconded the motion. Motion carried by roll call vote, Jim Holliday, yes; George Diedrich, yes; Amy Mathey, yes; Kevin Wynn, yes.

New Business – Amy Mathey made a motion to accept the Annual Town Meeting agenda as presented. George Diedrich seconded the motion. Motion carred.

Executive Session – Not needed.

Amy Mathey made a motion to adjourn at 6:26 p.m. Jim Holliday seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The next meeting will be held on Tuesday, April 9, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. at the Sycamore Township office. The Annual Town Meeting will follow at 6:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Lampkins
Kathy Lampkins
Township Clerk